Australian Embassy
Lao People's Democratic Republic
Km 4, Thadeua Road, Watnak (P.O. Box 292)

About us

About the Australian Embassy in Lao PDR

Head of Mission


HE Mr Jean-Bernard Carrasco, Australian Ambassador to the Lao PDR

Mr Carrasco, a senior career officer with DFAT, was most recently Assistant Secretary, South‑East Asia Strategies Branch. He has also served as Assistant Director-General, Climate Change and Environment Branch, AusAID; and Senior Adviser to the Minister Assisting the Minister for Climate Change. He has previously worked overseas as Minister Counsellor at the Australian Embassy in Jakarta.

Mr Carrasco holds a Graduate Diploma of Environmental Science from the Australian National University and a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from the University of Sydney.

 

 

 

Contact information

Address

Km 4, Thadeua Rd, Watnak Village, Sisattanak District,
Vientiane Capital, Lao PDR
​P.O. Box 292

Telephone

+856-21 353 800

Fax

+856-21 353 801

Australian Embassy Clinic Vientiane Updated on 1 March 2018


Opening hours

The Embassy is open from 8:30am to 5:00 pm Monday to Friday except for embassy holidays.

Passport and Notarial services are available on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9.00AM to 12.00 noon.

For these services a prior appointment is required, and can be made by calling +856 21 353800, or by emailing [email protected] for consular and notarial services, or [email protected] for passport services.

 

Public Holidays in 2020

the Embassy will be closed on:

  • Wednesday 1 January 2020 -  New Year's Day
  • Monday 9 March 2020 - International Women's Day (in lieu)
  • Friday 10 April 2020 - Good Friday
  • Monday 13 April 2020 - Easter Monday
  • Tuesday 14 April 2020 - Lao New Year Holiday
  • Wednesday 15 April 2020 - Lao New Year Holiday
  • Thursday 16 April 2020 - Lao New Year Holiday
  • Friday 1 May 2020 - Lao Labour Day
  • Monday 1 June 2020 - Reconciliation Day
  • Friday 30 October 2020 - That Luang Festival
  • Wednesday 2 December 2020 - Lao National Day
  • Friday 25 December 2020 - Christmas Day
  • Monday 28 December 2020 -  Additional DFAT day
  • Tuesday 29 December 2020 - Additional DFAT day
For more information about the public holiday CLICK HERE