Australian Embassy
Lao People's Democratic Republic
Km 4, Thadeua Road, Watnak (P.O. Box 292)

About us

About the Australian Embassy in Lao PDR

Head of Mission

HE Mr Jean-Bernard Carrasco, Australian Ambassador to the Lao PDR

Mr Carrasco, a senior career officer with DFAT, was most recently Assistant Secretary, South‑East Asia Strategies Branch. He has also served as Assistant Director-General, Climate Change and Environment Branch, AusAID; and Senior Adviser to the Minister Assisting the Minister for Climate Change. He has previously worked overseas as Minister Counsellor at the Australian Embassy in Jakarta.

Mr Carrasco holds a Graduate Diploma of Environmental Science from the Australian National University and a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from the University of Sydney.

 

 

 

Contact information

Address

Km 4, Thadeua Rd, Watnak Village, Sisattanak District,
Vientiane Capital, Lao PDR
​P.O. Box 292

Telephone

+856-21 353 800

Fax

+856-21 353 801

Australian Embassy Clinic Vientiane Updated on 1 March 2018


Opening hours

The Embassy will be open from 8:30am to 5:00 pm Monday to Friday except for public holidays. 


Public Holidays

January - December, 2018​
Monday 1 January 2018 New Year's Day
Thursday 8 March 2018 International Women's Day
Friday  30 March 2018 Good Friday
Monday 2 April 2018 Easter Monday
Monday 16 April 2018 Lao New Year Holiday
Tuesday 17 April 2018 Lao New Year Holiday
Tuesday 1 May 2018 Lao Labour Day
Monday 28 May 2018 Reconciliation Day
Thursday 22 November 2018 That Luang Festival
Monday 3 December 2018 Lao National Day
Tuesday 25 December 2018 Christmas Day
Wednesday 26 December 2018 Boxing Day
Thursday 27 December 2018 Additional DFAT day
Friday 28 December 2018 Additional DFAT day

 

For more information about the public holiday CLICK HERE